After Hours Conversations

October - November   2020   ;   February - March   2021


After Hours Conversations is a program of informal meetings that are held online, from 5:00 pm till 7:00 pm, on Thursdays, in October and November and again in February and March. 

These talks are open to faculty, members, visitors, staff, spouses, and partners in an effort to encourage cross-discipline communication at IAS. Professors Piet Hut, Didier Fassin, Helmut Hofer, and Myles W. Jackson will moderate the sessions.

The format is as follows. At 5:30 pm, someone will give an informal presentation of no more than 10 minutes, intended for a general audience. The topic will be a brief description of a major open  problem in his or her field, together with suggestions for possible future progress with respect to that problem. This talk will be followed by 20 minutes of discussion, until 6:00 pm. During the remaining hour, everyone is free to take part in more general discussions, preferably with others not from their own School.

A one-time registration is required. A zoom link will be sent to you upon registering. 

Please contact Safa Griffin (sgriffin@ias.edu) for the registration link or questions about the series.

If anyone would like to volunteer for giving a talk, please send an email to Piet Hut (piet@ias.edu), Didier Fassin (dfassin@ias.edu), Helmut Hofer (hofer@ias.edu), or Myles W. Jackson (myles@ias.edu).

Here is the list of speakers for the 10-minute presentations:

First Semester

Thursday, October 1, 2020
Presentation by: Ahmed Almheiri, School of Natural Sciences
Title: How the Inside of a Black Hole Can Secretly Be on the Outside
Host: Piet Hut

Thursday, October 8, 2020
Presentation by: Remy van Dobben de Bruyn, School of Mathematics
Title: Modernism and Mathematics
Host: Helmut Hofer

Thursday, October 15, 2020
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host: 

Thursday, October 22, 2020
[ no meeting this day (due to a scheduling conflict) ]

Thursday, October 29, 2020
Presentation by: 
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 5, 2020
Presentation by: 
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 12, 2020
Presentation by: 
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 19, 2020
Presentation by: 
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 26, 2020
[ No meeting this day; IAS is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday ]

Second Semester

Thursday, February 4, 2021
Presentation by: Carissa Harris, School of History
Title: The Rhetoric of Rage: Challenging Injustice in Medieval Lyrics and Black Women's Protest Movements
Host: Myles W. Jackson

Thursday, February 11, 2021
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host:

Thursday, February 18, 2020
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host:

Thursday, February 25, 2021
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host:

Thursday, March 4, 2021
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host:

Thursday, March 11, 2021
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host:

Thursday, March 18, 2021
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host:

Thursday, March 25, 2021
Presentation by: 
Title: 
Host: