After Hours Conversations

October - November   2017   ;   February - March   2018


After Hours Conversations is a program of informal meetings that are held at Harry's Bar in the upper level of Simons Hall, from 5:00 pm till 7:00 pm, on Mondays and Thursdays, in October and November and again in February and March.

These talks are open to faculty, members, visitors, staff, spouses, and partners in an effort to encourage cross-discipline communication at IAS. The sessions will be moderated by Piet Hut, Program in Interdisciplinary Studies; Yve-Alain Bois, School of Historical Studies; Didier Fassin, School of Social Science; Patrick Geary, School of Historical Studies; and Vladimir Voevodsky, School of Mathematics.

The format is as follows. At 5:30 pm, someone will give an informal presentation of no more than 10 minutes, intended for a general audience. The topic will be a brief description of a major open  problem in his or her field, together with suggestions for possible future progress with respect to that problem. This talk will be followed by 20 minutes of discussion, until 6:00 pm. During the remaining hour, everyone is free to mingle in more general discussions, preferably with others not from their own School.

If anyone would like to volunteer for giving a talk, please send an email to Piet Hut (piet@ias.edu), Yve-Alain Bois (yab@ias.edu), Didier Fassin (dfassin@ias.edu), Patrick Geary (geary@ias.edu), or Vladimir Voevodsky (vladimir@ias.edu).

To receive announcements of upcoming talks by email, contact Dawn Dunbar (ddunbar@ias.edu).

Note that in Harry's Bar all beverages including bottled water must be purchased with an IAS card. If you would like to purchase a drink, it would be best to arrive around 5:15, to allow the line at the bar to be processed before the start of the talk. Thank you for your cooperation.

Here is the list of speakers for the 10-minute presentations:

First Semester

Monday, October 2, 2017
Presentation by: Ohad Nachtomy, Program in Interdisciplinary Studies
Title: Infinity and Life in Leibniz Philosophy
Host: Piet Hut

Thursdayday, October 5, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, October 9, 2017
Presentation by: Avi Wigderson, School of Mathematics
Title: TBA
Host: Vladimir Voevodsky

Thursday, October 12, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, October 16, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, October 19, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, October 23, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, October 26, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, October 30, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 2, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, November 6, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 9, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, November 13, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 16, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, November 20, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 23, 2017
[ No meeting this day; IAS is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday ]

Monday, November 27, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, November 30, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Second Semester

Thursday, February 1, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, February 5, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, February 8, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, February 12, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, February 15, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, February 19, 2018
[ no meeting this day; IAS is closed for President's Day]

Thursday, February 22, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, February 26, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, March 1, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, March 5, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, March 8, 2017
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, March 12, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, March 15, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, March 19, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, March 22, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Monday, March 26, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host:

Thursday, March 29, 2018
Presentation by:
Title:
Host: